Roger Goldsmith Trophy

The Roger Goldsmith Memorial Trophy is an annual competition in the Bury Area Chess League for club teams of four players.   Each team’s total grade must not exceed 580 in Division 1, or 450 in Division 2.   Roger Goldsmith was a former secretary of the league, who died in 1990 aged only 42.

Teams play each other during the season in a ’round-robin’, after which the two top teams play each other again in a Final.

Both Finals took place this week and featured three teams from Bury St Edmunds.   In the Division 2 Final on Tuesday, Bury Cathedral lost ½ – 3½ to Linton Tigers, with only Bury’s Rene Martinez gaining a draw.

This evening, the Division 1 Final was held, with two Bury teams playing each other, having both scored 12 points to head the league table.

The current trophy holders, Bury Abbey, were up against Bury Beehive.   The result was a convincing 3½ – ½ win for Bury Abbey, with wins for Mike Harris (Board 1), Bob Jones (Board 2) and Tom Roy (Board 4).   Jaden Jermy on Board 3 was held to a draw by Adam Harvey.

The photo above shows the Beehive captain, Hugo Smith, presenting the trophy to Bob Jones, captain of the Abbey team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *