Under 11 team selected

The Suffolk Under 11 team will be competing against other counties in the EPSCA Eastern Zone Final next Saturday, 16 March, in Northampton.   Because Norfolk has not entered a team, we have been allowed to ‘borrow’ two of their top players; they have slotted straight in on boards 1 and 2.   The remainder of the team has been provided by either the Abbey Prep (Woodbridge School) or the Bury Knights Junior Chess Club.  Sadly, there are no other junior clubs in the county and not many schools are running chess clubs.   Only the top five boards have current ECF grades.

The 20-board team is:

1     Ryan Chan (Norfolk) – 108
2     Karthik Saravanan (Norfolk) – 116
3     Alex Sheerin (Bury Knights and Ipswich CC) – 105
4     Anita Somton (Bury Knights) – 59
5     Mario Saenz de Villaverde (Bury Knights) – 83
6     Daniel Garcia-Leon (Bury Knights)
7     Alan John (Bury Knights)
8     William Moody (Bury Knights)
9     Toby Cassy (Woodbridge)
10   Oliver Phelan (Woodbridge)
11   William Starling (Bury Knights)
12   Aaron Saenz de Villaverde (Bury Knights)
13   Giles Kelleway (Woodbridge)
14   Abel Vadakelan (Bury Knights)
15   Malik Bunton (Bury Knights)
16   Alex Hammond (Woodbridge)
17   George Wharam (Woodbridge)
18   Liya Baby (Bury Knights)
19   Bethany Young (Bury Knights and Stowmarket CC)
20   Zoe Newman (Woodbridge)

The other eight ‘counties’ are Barnet, Birmingham, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Kent, Northamptonshire and Richmond.   Each person plays three games, with 50 minutes each on the clock.   The six top scoring teams will progress to the National Finals, which take place in Nottingham on 11 May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *